Tags

, , , , , , ,

20130517-125006.jpg

Happy Friday!! I just thought I’d share some of the skin care products I’ve used up this month (no, I didn’t buy and start using these this month, but somehow I ended up running out of them all around the same time). I’ll also give a mini review of each product 🙂

My Skin Type

My skin is typically pretty balanced oil-wise, but it can sometimes lean just a tad dry. I also battle acne to an extent, but usually it comes from deeper within (so it’s not due to me not removing the makeup and excess oil on my skin).

Products

Simple’s Regular Cleansing Wipes: I workout at work on my lunch hour, and I CANNOT workout with makeup on my face. It just feels disgusting to me. SOOO, I take a package of these wipes to work and they work wonderfully – they are nicely saturated, don’t smell like anything, are very gentle, and remove makeup nicely.

Mary Kay’s Oil Free Eye Makeup Remover: I enjoy this makeup remover. A lot of other brands cause my eyelids to sting a bit and don’t seem to remove my waterproof mascara as well. I also appreciate the fact that it kills the lash mites that grow on our eyelashes. I’m on my 3rd or 4th bottle and I will continue to repurchase it.

Mary Kay’s Vitamin C Serum: Ok I’ve gone through two bottles of this stuff now, and I LOVE IT! My esthetician asked me what I’ve used differently on my skin, because it feels smoother and more elastic. I love how this stuff smells (I reminds me of a light, chewable vitamin C tablet), and I’m on my 3rd bottle.

Clinique’s All About Eyes Eye Cream: I’ve used this eye cream on and off for years. I do think it helps with darkness under the eyes, and it feels very smooth on the skin.

Proactive’s Sulfur Mask: There was a point when my skin was so bad and full of acne, I went to one of the little kiosks in the mall and picked up a Proactive kit. This mask was included, and it’s the only thing out of the entire kit that I actually liked (the cleanser and the toner were too harsh for my skin, and the moisturizer didn’t offer near enough moisture for my skin). I do like it, but I have read about other cheaper sulfur masks, and I’ll try those first before repurchasing this.

Clinique’s Take the Day Off Balm: I LOVE this stuff. I’m a firm believer in double cleansing – just washing your face once does NOT get all of your makeup off. And for some reason I don’t like using the same cleanser for both washes. This balm seems to dissolve all makeup and sunscreen, and it is safe to use around the eyes. I’m on my second pot (the first one lasted about 5-6 months), and I see myself continuing to repurchase it in the future.

Mary Kay’s Night Solution: I don’t use this product on a nightly basis – mostly just on nights then my acne has been particularly active and I have dark pigmentation spots to deal with. This night solution has a ton of fresh vitamins in it, and I’ve heard it called “Neosporin on steroids”. I agree with that, as it helps speed up the skin’s renewal process. Right now for some reason I’m more concerned with getting the Vitamin C Serum on my skin (I love the way it smells and Vitamin C also helps the skin’s renewal process).

Mary Kay’s Basic Skincare Blemish Toner: This toner has Salicylic Acid in it, which makes it very effective in helping to ward off acne. I use it in conjunction with Mary Kay’s benzoyl peroxide acne treatment gel – the acid helps break down the top layer of the skin which enables the benzoyl peroxide to penetrate deeper. This is true of most brand of S.A. toners/B.P. treatments, but I find Mary Kay’s toner to not be as harsh as other drugstore toners I’ve tried in the past. I’m now on my 2nd bottle of this, and I will continue to repurchase it.

Clinique’s Chubby Stick in Super Strawberry: I apologize that this isn’t featured in the above picture, but I just realized that this stick is down to the very end! I find this color looks very natural on my skin tone (NC 20 in MAC for reference), and I enjoy the formula. I will probably repurchase it in the future.

Well, that’s all I have for now! I hope you’re all having a fabulous evening/day/whatever-have-you, and thank you so much for reading!

