Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last year I made a trip to Sephora to pick up the NARS Orgasm/Laguna duo…and ended up having to cough up $41 for it (that’s NOT including sales tax). I was a bit shocked at first, but I was able to justify the purchase to myself because after all, EVERYONE in the YouTube beauty realm and so many beauty bloggers rave about NARS ORGASM.

I will admit, it is a very beautiful blush… a sort of pinky peach with some gold shimmer in it. BUT, as I shopped my collection one day, I found my long-lost Mary Kay Shy Blush. I couldn’t help thinking to myself how similar the two seemed in the pan, so of course that led to swatches. Looking at the below picture, can YOU tell which blush is which? I sure can’t!

NARS Orgasm next to Mary Kay's Shy Blush

What you’re looking at is Mary Kay’s Shy blush swatched above NARS Orgasm. Below are a few different points of comparison, NARS vs. MK:

Price: $29 vs. $10

Amount of product: 0.17oz vs 0.18 —> you’re getting more product with MK for less!

Packaging: Shy Blush comes as a loose pan (meaning it doesn’t need to be depotted), so you can either stick some magnetic tape to the back of it and put it in something like a Z Palette, or you can buy any of the various magnetic compacts that MK sells to just stick the blush into. Note — Many think that MK eye shadows are safely fixed in their initial clear plastic casing, but in fact they are loose, so it’s important to handle them carefully before they’re stuck into a more permanent home. Ā NARS blushes on the other hand are fixed in a slim black compact, which has a mirror.

Compacts side by side

Compacts side by side

Color and pigmentation: Both blushes are pinky peachy blushes with a bit of a golden shimmer in them. To me, they are spot on each other color-wise. Pigmentation however… well, that’s a different story. In the swatch picture above, I didn’t have to build up Shy Blush at all to get the color pay off you see. I had to make three swipes with the Orgasm blush to reach the same pigmentation. So overall, pigmentation on the Shy Blush is a lot better in my opinion.

Final thoughts….

While some might not like the idea of its initial loose packaging, ultimately Shy Blush wins out due to the fact that it’s much more highly pigmented, it’s cheaper, and it offers so much more product for the price.

I think I’ve covered everything, but please leave me any questions in the comments! Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

